Family Values

Elder abuse comes in various forms, psychological and physical abuse being the most well-known, with financial exploitation a close third. Ironically, in my family, psychological and physical abuse was inflicted on my mother by my father. Now, after my mother passed away from Parkinson’s and the neglect of my father, my father is being financially exploited by my youngest sister, her husband, and their son.

A while back, my sister and her husband stole $100,000 from him, when they reneged on paying back a loan they used to invest in commercial real estate. Now, after failing to get him to sign over the deed to his home, their son has convinced him to transfer money to him from his investment account that he reserved for assisted living care in his old age.

My sister’s son and his wife have moved into his home, and take his wallet without permission to shop and travel, yet do not take care of him, necessitating the employment of a professional caregiver, while they live on his money. Unfortunately, the law is no help, since my now ninety-one-year-old father is still mentally competent, although emotionally vulnerable.

~ by Jay Taber on October 4, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
